By Rev. Wasike

Immediately after Jennifer donated the money, I called the families through the one of board members and communicated about the donations and their intended purpose. When Kundu’s father received information about the donated seeds, it was God's timings that the father and Kundu plus others in the family seriously became engaged preparing their land for planting.

This gift really enabled this particular family to approach the year in a different style. Kundu and his siblings plus the father are without mother, and though they have land they have been compelled to hire out the same land at a small fee for many years since they never had means to farm the land themselves.

Now they could finally grow their own food. Since the family could not afford a tractor or oxen to come by to plough the land, they had to do it by hand (hoe). Even though this is a slow way of preparations, they had completed a big portion of their land by the time we went to buy the seeds.

Kundu, his father, and Rev. Wasike

Originally, I had wished to buy the seeds in Nairobi, but communication with the family forced me to go and make them select what type crop seeds they thought they could manage without more inputs from outsiders. They had very set ideas about what they wanted to grow. So when I was in Kimilili last week, right away Kundu plus his father and I went into town to buy the seeds in the Agrovet shop.

At this stage, I was a bit surprised with Kundu’s reaction. He did not indicate much happiness, but acted as if it as normal for him to receive the seeds. Then, I looked at Kundu’s father and was challenged when I saw tears flowing, upon receiving the seeds. In fact, he said that did not believe it would happen. He had done all the preparation not quite believing it would actually happen. When handed him his seeds, he wanted to leave immediately. He didn’t even want to stop to take a photo.

It was a cloudy day and showing signs of rain. He just excused himself, saying that he wanted the day's rain to find his seeds in the soil. Two or three hours later, I went to his home because I wanted to discuss with him a difficult situation that persisted for the last few months. And that was, he refused to let Kundu go to school and instead got Kundu casual work looking after cattle for the neighbourhood.

Upon reaching the home of Kundu, I was shocked to see everyone out on the plot of land planting the seeds. It was almost impossible for me to get Kundu’s father to sit down with me to discuss this matter close to my heart, even though I sacrificed time needed with other community members to go there.

As far as one could see, there was a beehive of activity on the plot of the land of Kundu’ family planting the seeds. The father and elder children plus Kundu himself were at peace; joyful and energetic to go the extra mile as long as it meant planting their own food.

I had a short chat with the father and he promised to send Kundu back to school when the school terms start again. Not, only do the seeds provide the family with food, they also enable Kundu to go to school. Among all those who received gifts from Jennifer, my personal rating noted that Kundu’s family saw God through the seeds.

9/8/2010 12:33:48 pm

O Beauty, find thyself in love, not in the flattery of thy mirror.

Reply
10/21/2010 02:08:11 pm

To trust myself, and believe everything nice!

Reply
2/22/2011 11:04:29 am

Thanks for the interesting story, although it did get rather quite a while to accomplish browsing. (English is not my national tongue) Can I enquire where you acquired your resources from? Thank you!

Reply
3/9/2011 02:40:01 pm

Your blog is so great . I'd like to read the information about it, so how does it work? Do you want to know the MBT shoes ? MBT shoes on hot sale !

Reply
4/12/2011 01:32:31 pm

I am not definitely sure if finest practices have emerged around items like that, but I'm sure that your fantastic career is obviously recognized. I was wanting to know in case you present any subscription in your RSS feeds as I'd be extremely interested and can?t discover any link to subscribe right here.

Reply
4/26/2011 12:06:10 pm

Jordan time to Kobe in NBA, Nike has discovered a lot more than ten players to be their fans, also a number of them like Jordan and Kobe has got their

Reply
4/26/2011 12:06:52 pm

very own shoes in Nike. In football place, Nike has observed C Lo the well-known football player on the planet to be their speaksperson from teenagers till

Reply
7/6/2011 10:56:06 am

Another great post.

Reply
moncler online
10/27/2011 11:31:36 am

Nice post,thank you!

Reply
2/6/2012 09:07:14 am

The first question in addition to some, intentionally don't write the rest of the title, he is on paper the same.Speak to say too wonderful. It is very interesting.

Reply
2/21/2012 09:29:10 am

I believe its a nice-looking first-rate design not that present aren't other sites out in attendance thatby now perform impressive like save for I imagine it power vicious circle lying on at this point attractive fine.

Reply
3/26/2012 03:05:08 pm

Truth is beautiful. Without doubt, and so are lies
.

Reply
4/5/2012 07:56:20 pm

Can see your blog I very happy! Thanks for your sharing, I wish you a happy life!

Reply
4/8/2012 07:09:26 pm

More and more people like <a href="http://www.cheapoakleysales.com/"><strong>cheap oakley</strong></a>, which is famous of brands. This was a pretty modeling week for <a href="http://www.cheapoakleysales.com/"><strong>oakley sunglasses cheap</strong></a> now.

Reply
4/8/2012 07:09:46 pm

It is so lucky to read your blog,it is full of useful message about <a href="http://www.maccosmetics-wholesale.com/"><strong>mac cosmetics wholesale</strong></a>. I wish we both can do better in the future.It great honour if you can visit our <a href="http://www.maccosmetics-wholesale.com/"><strong>mac cosmetics outlet</strong></a>,and give us some suggession.

Reply
4/9/2012 12:09:08 pm

Hey,man your Blog is awesome ,will definitely come again soon ,keep it up.

Reply
5/22/2012 10:26:57 am

Thank you for sharing your article. I really like it, I put the link to my site here so that others can read it. Your mind is very good, from your post is very inspiring.This is why once again to visit this blog and will come back to thank you.This blog is cool!

Reply
5/22/2012 10:48:18 am

I was lucky, I found my search and theme of the article, I think you is a great blog of interesting information on the best of good jobs.This is a good theme professional theme will be a good example for the outline papers composer has.

Reply
5/22/2012 06:07:02 pm

Great! Perfect! Five star! This is what I want to explain to your article. Good news and quick updating.[url=http://www.newerasnapbackshatswholesale.com/nba-snapback-hats-c-3.html]snapbacks hats[/url] I love your blog very much. Thank you!

Reply
5/22/2012 06:08:38 pm

Wonderful blogs i have seen at present, you give me the other sight to my life. <a href="http://www.cheapoakleyfrogskinssunglasses.net/">oakley glasses</a>thanks a lot

Reply
5/22/2012 06:13:09 pm

I am love this blog very much, i will continue to read.<a href="http://www.echeapraybansale.com/">cheap ray bans</a>

Reply
5/22/2012 06:14:57 pm

It was very informative.<a href="http://www.echeapraybansale.com/">ray bans on sale</a>I appreciate your effort to put this piece together.thank you for your share.

Reply
6/15/2012 01:10:55 pm

I hope you have a nice Nike Shoxday! Very good article, well written and very thought out. I am looking forward to reading more of your posts in the future

Reply
7/16/2012 05:28:07 pm

I believe this site contains some very good info for everyone : D.

Reply
7/29/2012 07:32:14 am

There is noticeably big dollars to understand about this. I suppose you might have made certain good points in functions also.

Reply



Leave a Reply.